Inventory

Image

I’ve been gathering up information and supplies for sewing for months now and am finally getting around to the actual sewing part! I’m surprised by my excitement about this. I decidedly avoided ever taking home ec. and was always slightly wary of wearing anything homemade by my mother. And yet here I am. I’ve made a couple of little things and am ready to start with the bigger projects now.

My mother has graciously gifted me a good deal of supplies to get started and I thought I’d inventory them via pictures. Above shows the large pieces of fabric that I took from my parents basement. I’m especially interested in finding something to do with the mustard-with-red-and-black-squares one.

Here’s a shot of the smaller bits of fabric. I’m hoping to make my first garment out of the black-with-white-dots one soon, using the free and newly released Plantain pattern from Deer&Doe.

Image

This is my sewing machine, whom I’ve named Walter (anyone watch Breaking Bad?). He’s a White 2999 model and we are still getting acquainted. This machine was a gift to my mother from my father years ago, but she was a bit intimidated by his newfangled ¬†digital screen and 24 different stitch options, so she stuck to her old machine and Walter sat in the basement for a few years.

Image

(please excuse the hideous wood paneled walls and my handmade pincushion that is suppose to be a porcupine but looks more like a sloth)

And here are some pics of the notions, yarns, and doodads I have to mess around with. VVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVV

Image

Image

Above are a few things inherited from my Grandma Mary.

Image

Image

Image

Image

And finally, here are a couple of things I made for the holidays. Two canvas laundry bags for my brothers(they are the type of bachelors who come home every couple of weeks to do laundry and they were bundling up their clothes in trash bags, if you can believe it), an infinity scarf for my sister in maroon, an infinity stocking-stitch scarf for myself in pine green, and denim hot pads for my mom inspired by The Purl Bee.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Here’s hoping my sewing and knitting inspiration continues! I’ll be making a rice warmer today and starting on my Plantain blouse.

XJenny

Leave a Reply

